Posted in Travel

Foz do Iguaçu

After 3 seperate post YARP celebrations, I flew to Foz do Iguaçu for 2 days solo travelling before going to Florianopolis to meet up with friends.

Since I didn’t have long in Iguaçu I didn’t go into the town, which is apparently unremarkable except for the Buddhist temple, or to the Itaipu dam, or to Ciudad del Este in Paraguay. I did go to the Brazilian side of the falls, the Parque das Aves, and the Argentinian side of the falls, and it was so worth it!

Day 1 was the Brazilian falls and the Parque das Aves. I was staying in a really lush hostel called Hostel Poesia, but you had to walk for 15 mins to get to the bus stop. From there it was super duper easy to get to the falls which cost a fair bit if you’re not Brazilian, which the lady at the desk reminded me I am not- very rude.

Within the first five minutes of getting off the free bus to go see the falls I got my lunch stolen by a coati. For those who aren’t familiar with them, this is a coati:

Foz do Iguaçu- Brazil side (2)

You’re probably laughing at me because it’s super cute, but they use that cuteness to their advantage! I bent down to take a better photo, and my bag was open by a millimeter, he ran at me and clung on to my bag! I stood up thinking he’d let go, but no! He clung on and forced the bag open with his nose then ran off with my cheese sandwich! My embarrassment at being robbed within the first five minutes was made worse by people coming up to ask if I was okay for the next half hour, no one offered to buy me lunch though unfortunately.

After this sad loss of my lunch, I wandered down the path to the falls, which made me forget all about it, because they look like this:

 

They’re insane, and so beautiful. There is just so much water thundering down. The Brazilian falls don’t take long to see because you can only walk down to a walk way that give you a straight on view, then back up to a viewing platform and then along to the (very overpriced) eating area, I was there for about 2 and a half hours before I decided to head to the Parque das Aves.

I went because I read that they rescue birds from traffickers, and the birds there can’t be released back into the wild, so I didn’t feel bad that they were imprisoned, and in fact they had very large cages with plenty of space to dly. It was a wonderful experience to see so many amazing birds. Below are some of the few good photos I took of the incredible birds that were there:

I won’t include my terrible selfies with various birds, but I can’t lie about how excited I was to see flamingos, toucans and macaws (all pictured above), as well as butterflies, humming birds, owls, vultures, parrots, eagles, an iguana and a boa constrictor (out of fear that it would break free Harry Potter 1 style I hurried away from it pretty pronto!)

The next day it was time for the Argentinian side! My hostel organised a transfer for me, which picked me up and dropped me off, apparently getting there by bus is a bit of a nightmare, so I was very satisfied with this.

The Argentinian side has A LOT more to do, I was there from 10am to 6pm and didn’t see it all, (though I was slowed down by two new friends I made who took a lot of selfies). It is magnificent though, there’s a lot more wildlife (I saw an iguana and a toucan), a lot more walking and you get really close to the falls!

Foz do Iguaçu- Argentina (12)Foz do Iguaçu- Argentina (17)Foz do Iguaçu- Argentina (27)Foz do Iguaçu- Argentina (25)

Iguaçu has to be one of the most stunning places I’ve ever been to, and I’m so glad I made the effort to go. If you have the chance to go, grab it, because it will be worth it.

Leave a Reply

